top of page

Testing the motherboard, heater and AD597 thermocouple

Today I did a few tests and when I started I had some troubles getting the connection right trough Cura. The weird part was that I was able to upload firmware to the printer but than I could not establish the connection run the bed-leveling-wizard in Cura.

A few hours of research on the internet and digging trough forums didnt give me any cleus. I decided to continue and test my hot-end electronics.

One little problem I came accros was that the thermocouple should have 2 diffirent color wires Red (+) and Blue(-). Mine had 2 white wires so I think the colors must have faded off. I could not find a way to chek it's polarity so I just marked one wire and connectet them randomly to my AD597 thermocouple board. I carefully switched the power supply on and BOOM! bed smell, flash of light, smoke and siddering noise!! I turned it off in a split second!

After calming down I disconnected the power supply and start looking for possible damage. One wire of the thermocouple that was white was now completeley black over the entire length. I wasn't looking good for me... I decidet to twist the wires and just try again (this time a little tense) I plugged the power back in and turned it on again. No smoke, everything looked ok. So I retryed connecting to Cura and guess what? It worked! So I ran a test program and everything worked perfectly the heater cartridge heated up and I could read the temperature from my laptop. Big release that I had not blew anything up. I marked the wires and called it for the night.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page